Do I have to use the registration form that is provided by the Secretary of State?
Yes, when you’re registering as a telephone seller, you have to use our form. Call Wendy Haynes at 919-814-5400 or email her at firstname.lastname@example.org to get copies of the forms.
Are there forms available online?
Yes, You can find the forms on the Telephonic Seller Forms Page.
Where can I get a copy of the law for telephonic sellers?
I know I have to have a bond to be a registered telephone seller. Who should the bond be in favor of?
The bond has to be in favor of the State of North Carolina.
How long will my registration last?
Your registration is good for one year from the effective date on your registration certificate. You must renew the registration annually.
What is the fee for registering as a telephonic seller?
The registration fee is $100.00.
How long will it take for you to process my application?
We normally process applications within 2 - 3 business days.
If I need to make changes (addendum) to my registration, is there a specific amount of time I have to do it?
You have 10 days from the time of the change to file an addendum with us. We call your change an addendum.
Is there a form to use to make changes (addendum) to my registration?
We don’t have a form for you to use. You can make changes using a letter, e-mail or fax with the following information. Contact information can be found on the Telephonic Seller main web page.
- The name or names under which the telephonic seller is doing business in this state;
- The registration certificate number;
- A listing of the changes being made to the registration; and
- Must contain the notarized signatures of each principal of the telephonic seller.
How do I contact you or submit a document?
Mailing AddressNC Secretary of State
Post Office Box 29622
Raleigh, North Carolina 27626-0622
Physical AddressNC Secretary of State
2 South Salisbury Street
Raleigh, North Carolina 27601-2903
What is the effective date of my registration?
The effective date will be the date we accept your application as complete and filed it.
How will I know what the effective date is?
The effective date will be on the certificate of registration that is returned to you.