Your Dream Is Our Dream
We believe in North Carolina's economy, an informed citizenry, and your dream to create a business. The Business Registration Division will help you realize your dreams by providing the information and tools to register your business and stay compliant with the State of North Carolina.
Beware of companies “phishing” for unnecessary annual report fees and corporate information
Annual Report Update
All Business Corporation Annual Reports Now to be filed directly with the Secretary of State’s Office on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following the company’s fiscal year end.
Document Turn-Around Times
Turn around time is the time it takes for us to receive, process, and return your document. Currently the turn-around time is 5-7 business days for regular documents.
Annual Report paper submissions are currently processed within 60 business days.
Applications for Administrative Reinstatements are currently being processed within 7-10 business days.
Why the Notice of Grounds?
Did you receive a Notice of Grounds for Administrative Dissolution/Revocation?
Click here to find out why.
Certificate of Existence
You can obtain Certificates of Existence for your company by ordering online at a cost of $10.
Click here for a related fraud alert.
The NC Secretary of State’s Office has been made aware of a misleading mailing targeting recently
created North Carolina corporations, LLCs and other business entities
Click here for More Information
What We Do
The duty of the Secretary of State is to ensure uniform compliance with the statutes governing the creation of business entities, record the information required to be kept as a public record, and provide that information to the public. The Business Registration Division acts in an administrative capacity only and cannot give legal advice.