
INFORMATIONAL BULLETIN 
 
TO:  Private Placement Issuers and Securities Professionals 
 
RE: State filing requirements for Issuers Relying on the Securities Act of 1933, 

Regulation D, Rule 506 beginning March 16, 2009 
 
FROM: North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Securities Division 
 
DATE: March 13, 2009 
 
 
Intent of this Informational Bulletin 
 
The intent of this bulletin is to advise you of revisions to the filing requirements for an issuer 
offering or selling securities in North Carolina in reliance on N.C.G.S. §78A-31(b) and federal 
Regulation D, Rule 506.  Information regarding filing Form D with the SEC is available at 
http://www.sec.gov/divisions/corpfin/formdfiling.htm.  In addition, the SEC issued a Notice on 
February 17 regarding changes brought about by the March 16 electronic filing mandate.  It is 
available at http://www.sec.gov/info/edgar/ednews/eformd.htm.  
 
In 2008, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) adopted revisions to Form D and 
the rules for filing the form.  See Securities Act Release No. 33-8891 (Feb. 6, 2008), available at 
http://www.sec.gov/rules/final/2008/33-8891.pdf.  The revised rules allow Form D to be filed 
electronically with the SEC on a voluntary basis from September 15, 2008 through March 15, 
2009.  Beginning March 16, 2009 electronic filing is mandatory for all Form D filings with 
the SEC.  
 
 
INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO FILE FORM D IN THIS STATE  
 
What to file with North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Securities Division 
 
Beginning March 16, 2009, an issuer offering or selling securities in reliance on Regulation D, 
Rule 506 and N.C.G.S. §78A-31(b) shall file with the North Carolina Department of the 
Secretary of State, Securities Division:  

 
• An authenticated paper copy of the notice of sale on Form D that was filed electronically 

with the SEC (the form is available at http://www.sec.gov/about/forms/formd.pdf) and 
• The requisite fee of $350. 

 
How to file with North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Securities Division 
 
A paper filing shall be submitted to the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, 
Securities Division at N.C. Department of the Secretary of State, P.O. Box 29622, Raleigh, N.C. 
27626-0622.  All filings shall be submitted with the appropriate filing fee $350.   



 
In order to make an electronic filing on Form D with the SEC, an issuer will need to obtain an 
EDGAR access code.  If the issuer does not already have an EDGAR access code, the 
authentication process should be reviewed in advance of an anticipated filing of Form D because 
the authorization process could be time consuming, and result in the late filing of a notice in this 
state.  EDGAR access codes may be obtained by following the instructions at 
https://www.filermanagement.edgarfiling.sec.gov.  For additional information on how to file 
with the SEC, go to http://www.sec.gov/divisions/corpfin/formdfiling.htm. 
 
When to file with the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Securities 
Division 
 
The Form D shall be filed no later than 15 calendar days after the first sale of securities in North 
Carolina unless the 15th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday, in which case the due date is 
the first business day following.  
 
When to file amendments with the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, 
Securities Division 
 
Issuers must file an amendment in accordance with requirements set forth in 18 NCAC 06. 1211, 
but may voluntarily file an amendment to a Form D at any time.  Generally, amendments need to 
be filed to correct material mistakes of fact or errors on a previously filed Form D as soon as 
practicable after discovering the mistake or error.  The SEC’s requirements for filing an 
amendment to Form D are found in the Code of Federal Regulations, 17 CFR 230.503(a)(1)-(4).  
An amendment to a previously filed Form D must provide current information in response to all 
requirements of the notice of sale on Form D regardless of why the amendment is filed.  
 
Contact the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State, Securities Division for 
help with questions regarding filing requirements 
 
Requests for additional information or questions regarding this Bulletin may be directed to the 
Director of Registration at (919) 733-3924 or send an e-mail to secdiv@sosnc.com or view our 
webpage at www.sosnc.com . As this Bulletin does not provide filing requirements for Issuers 
relying on Regulation D, Rule 504 and/or Rule 505, if you are relying on Regulation D, Rules 
504 and/or 505, please contact the Director of Registration at (919) 733-3924 for those filing 
requirements. 
   
 
 


