Elaine F. Marshall

Secretary of State


1989 Phi Kappa Phi, Academic Honorary

1981 Graduate, Campbell University School of Law, Juris Doctor

1979 Who's Who Among American Universities and Colleges

1968 Graduate, University of Maryland, B.S. in Textiles and Clothing


1993 to 1997 Partner, Marshall & Marshall, Lillington, NC

1985-1992 Partner, Bain & Marshall, Lillington, NC

1981-1984 Associate, Office of Edgar R. Bain, Lillington, NC

1975-1979 Owner and Decorator, The Custom House, Dunn, NC

1970-1977 Instructor, Lenoir Community College and Johnston Tech

1969-1970 Teacher, Lenoir County School System

1969-1974 Co-owner, book and gift store

1964-1966 Director of Camping, Maryland 4-H Foundation (summers)


1997 to date N.C. Secretary of State

1993-1994 Senator, 15th District of North Carolina

1991-1992 Harnett County Democratic Party Chair

1983-1987 Democratic Women of Harnett County - President

1977-1979 Young Democrats of America, National Secretary

1974-1977 National Committee Woman, Young Democrats of North Carolina

Various Many local, district, and state committees


2001 to date mso-bidi-font-size: 10.0pt; layout-grid-mode: line'>Chair, E-Government Committee, N.C. Information Resource Management Commission

2000 to date National Electronic Commerce Coordinating Council, Board of Directors

1998 to date National Association of Secretaries of State, Board of Directors

1998 to date Meredith College, Board of Trustees 

1997 to date Chair, Electronic Commerce Work Group

1997 to date NC Institute of Political Leadership, Board of Directors

1994-to date NC Justice Academy Foundation, Board of Directors

1993-1994 Co-Chair North Carolina Information Highway Grants Advisory Committee, Family Issues Study Commission, Medicaid Study Commission

1994-to date NC Center for Public Policy Research, Board of Directors

1993-1994     North Carolina Board of Economic Development

1997 to date NC Rural Economic Development Fund, Inc., Board of Directors

1993-1995    North Carolina Courts Commission, Juvenile Code Study Commission

1993-1994 Agriculture and Forestry Resources Study Commission

1993-1994 Joint Legislative Highway Oversight Committee

1992 Legislative Research Study Commission on Alternative Health Care

1990-1998 NC 4-H Development Fund, Inc. Board of Directors

1987 to 1996 Harnett County United Way - Board of Directors


2003 “Top Twenty-Five” Award for Government Technology Leadership in America by Government Technology Magazine

2002 “In the Arena” Award for technology products, Center for Digital Government

2002 “Best of Breed Programs” Award for personal leadership, Center for Digital Government

2001  Alumni of the Year, North Carolina 4-H

2001 Academy of Women Inductee, Wake County YWCA

2001  Young Democrats of America, James Earl Carter Outstanding Alumni Award

2000   Special Achievement Award for Technology, Academy of Trial Lawyers

1998 Leadership in Technology Award in the Government/Non Profit sector, NCEITA

1998 Career Woman of the Year, Business & Professional Women in North Carolina

1998 Leadership in Technology Award,: NC Electronics and Information Technology Association

1997 Richter Moore Public Service, NC Political Science Association

1997 NC Council for Women, Distinguished Citizen

1996 Gwyneth B. Davis Award, NC Association of Women Attorneys

1994 Honorary Member, The Delta Kappa Gamma Society

1994 Lillington Woman of the Year

1994 Public Citizen of the Year, NC Chapter, National Association of Social Workers

1993 to date Women's Forum of NC, Inc.

1992 to date Harnett HelpNet for Children, Honorary Chairperson, Founding Chairperson

1992 North Carolina Friend of Extension Award

1991-1992 State Of The Child Conference Planning Committee

1991 Fellow, North Carolina Institute of Political Leadership

1990 Dunn Business Woman of the Year

1989 to 1990 Family Community Leadership Conference Speaker, Kellogg Foundation & N.C. Extension Service (8 counties)

1989 N.C. Extension Homemakers "Special Support" Award

1989 Harnett County 4-H Alumni of the Year

1988-1991 Founding Board, Harnett County Rape Crisis (now SAFE)

1987-1990 N.C. Business and Professional Women Legal Advisor

1982 to date Harnett Area BPW

1967 International Farm Young Exchange Delegate to Brazil

1963 National Scholarship Winner - 4-H Foundation

1963 Maryland 4-H President

Speaker 1986,1990,1991 Spotlight on Women Series - sponsored by UNC-CH and BPW/NC

Always 4-H and Extension Volunteer


1999 to date Committee on Women in the Profession, NC Bar Association

1995 Legislative Chairman, N.C. Association of Women Attorneys

1988-1992 Governor, N.C. Academy of Trial Lawyers

1991 Speaker, Annual Meeting N.C. Association of Women Attorneys

1988-1989 President, Harnett County Bar Association

1985-1986 Vice-President - Campbell University School of Law Alumni Assoc.

1982-1984 Adjunct faculty, Trial Advocacy Program, Campbell University School of Law

1982 to date Trial Judge & Appellate Judge for Campbell University Law Students

1981 to date North Carolina College of Advocacy

Various Seminar speaker, NC Bar Association, Association of Women Attorneys


North Carolina State Bar

North Carolina Bar Association

North Carolina Academy of Trial Lawyers

North Carolina Association of Women Attorneys

American Bar Association

American Academy of Trial Lawyers

Delta Theta Phi Legal Fraternity


North Carolina Courts

U.S. District Court - Eastern & Middle Districts of N.C.

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals

United States Supreme Court


Born: November 18, 1945

Raised: Lineboro, Md., a small farming village on the Mason-Dixon line

Parents: Donald and Pauline Folk    Occupations: Farmer and feed dealer; homemaker

Marital Status: Married to Bill Holdford

5 step-children, 7 grandchildren

Member: Divine Street United  Methodist Church, Dunn, N.C.