North Carolina Government

North Carolina's Role in the Federal Government

bull_red.GIF (675 bytes)

U.S. Senate:
Richard Burr
Thom Tillis

bull_red.GIF (675 bytes)

U.S. House of Representatives
1st District: G.K. Butterfield 8th District: Richard Hudson
2nd District: Renee Ellmers 9th District: Robert Pittenger
3rd District: Walter B. Jones 10th District: Patrick McHenry
4th District: David Price 11th District: Mark Meadows
5th District: Virginia Foxx 12th District: Alma Adams
6th District: Mark Walker 13th District: George Holding
7th District: David Rouzer
North Carolina State Government

bull_red.GIF (675 bytes)

Legislative Branch

bull_red.GIF (675 bytes)

Executive Branch

bull_red.GIF (675 bytes)

Judicial Branch
The Legislative Branch makes laws for North Carolina. It is made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives, which together are known as the General Assembly. The General Assembly meets several times a year in Raleigh, the state capital. The Executive Branch of government is the branch that enforces laws. The head of this branch is the governor, who is elected every four years. Along with the Governor, the Executive Branch also includes the Lieutenant Governor and many state agencies. The Judicial Branch interprets what our laws mean and makes decisions about the laws and those who break them. It is made up of several courts, the highest of which is the state Supreme Court.

General Assembly



Lieutenant Governor

State Agencies

Return to Almanac